3GAB

Gratitude and a Giveaway

Gratitude

“At times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person. Each of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the flame within us.” – Albert Schweitzer

My father used to say something very peculiar to my brother and I when we were growing up. He used to say, “If your mother puts rocks on the table for dinner, you will eat them and say thank you.”

As an eight-year-old, I thought my father was a bit weird for saying that. I later learned what that funny saying meant.  It’s the same quote that my grandfather used to tell my father. What it means is that if there is food on the table, even if your mother isn’t the best cook, you should be grateful. Well, my mother wasn’t the best cook, but over time what I learned is that I need to appreciate the fact that I was fed.

Gratitude is a gift. I remember when I was younger, I wasn’t very aware of how to be thankful for what I had. Being grateful was something I learned. I was taught the concept of gratitude over time through my grandparents’ odd, yet very wise expressions.

As I’ve grown older, I’ve realized how important having gratitude is.  There are hundreds of ways to look at life situations.  I actively choose to look at all of my ups and downs with a grateful outlook.  It makes the ups sweeter and the downs more bearable. I always say to myself, what will I learn from the down this time?  I also think about how great the up is going to feel when I overcome the obstacle.  It’s not easy to think this way, but it ultimately makes for a happier life.

 

Enter to win your very own copy of 3rd Generation and Beyond!

 

6 thoughts on “Gratitude and a Giveaway

  1. Danna,

    I don’t believe we’ve formally met yet. I work with your dad and I bought your book as soon as I heard it was out (on Amazon). I just read it this past Saturday and I’m grateful I did. I’ll tell you that I am very thankful that your great grandfather told you grandfather and his brother to run that day. Your dad created a platform for me to live my destiny and you just ease my burden along the way. I’ll be quoting you both as long as I have a voice in this world!

    Deeply and profoundly appreciative,

    Stephen Wilke

    • Hi Stephen,

      Thank you so much for your words! I am truly touched about what you said about my grandfather and my father. I wrote the book in honor of my grandparents and even though my grandfather passed when I was a baby, I miss him everyday.

      Thank you also for saying you will use your voice in quoting us! Wow, thank you. It means so much to hear that my words and messages have touched someone.

      I appreciate all of what you said!

      Danna

      • My pleasure and my pledge. I hope my Nana and my other Grandmothers are having a good visit with your Safta somewhere agreeable to them all 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Path of Gratitude | Clarabelle

  3. Pingback: How Did I Get Here? | Clarabelle

Leave a Reply

